Ludgershall Castle Primary School

Home Page

Ludgershall Castle Primary School

Home Page


Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

  1. The name of the School is Ludgershall Castle Primary School.
  2. The School is a foundation School.
  3. The name of the governing body is 'The Governing Body of Ludgershall Castle Primary School'
  4. The Governing body shall consist of:

       a) 4 parent Governors

       b) 1 local authority Governor

       c) 2 staff Governors (including the head teacher)

       d) 5 co-opted Governors

       e) 2 Partnership Governors


  1. Total number of Governors is 14.
  2. This instrument of Government came into effect on 28th January 2015
  3. This instrument was made by order of Wiltshire Council on 17th February 2015.


Chair of Governors: Mrs Sharon Kirwan, LA Governor

Vice chair: Mr Stuart Colby, Partnership Governor

Chair of Finance and Premises Committee - Mr Stuart Colby

Chair of Curriculum Committee - Mrs Julie Walker

Clerk to Governors: Mrs Pearce, c/o Ludgershall Castle Primary School


GovernorCategory Term of office 



Governance in 

other schools

Business/ Financial


Mrs Sharon KirwanLA appointed 27/1/2019 - 26/1/2023100%Nil See below
Mr Stuart ColbyPartnership 27/1/2019 - 26/1/202375%NilSee below
Mrs Julie WalkerCo-opted 27/1/2019 - 26/1/2023100%NilNil
Mr Joel DinnageParent17/10/2018 - 16/10/2022100%NilNil
Mrs Margaret PotterStaff27/1/2019 - 26/1/202350%NilNil
Mr Andy BridewellStaff25/12/2009 - 25/12/2050100%NilNil
Mrs Sarah McKeownStaff02/02/2020 - 01/02/2024100%NilNil
Governors who resigned within academic year
Mr Tony PickernellCo-opted 

27/1/2019 -


66%Wellington AcademyNil
Mr Martin AshworthParent 


- 21/11/19

Mr Stephen CumminsParent17/10/2018 - 19/04/21100%NilSee below
Mr Jimmy HoldenCo-opted24/10/2018 - 21/6/2175%NilNil


Finance and Premises Committee 



09/19-07/20 (5 meetings)

Mr Stuart ColbyChair of committee, Vice chair of Governors100%
Mrs Sharon KirwanChair of Governors80%
Mr Andy BridewellHead Teacher100%
Mr Stephen CumminsParent governor80%
Mr Joel DinnageParent governor80%


Curriculum Committee



09//19-07/20 (2 meetings)

Mrs Julie WalkerChair of Curriculum Committee100%
Mrs Sharon KirwanChair of Governors50%
Mr Andy BridewellHead Teacher100%
Mrs Sarah McKeownStaff governor100%
Mr Jimmy HoldenCo-opted governor 50%
Mrs Margaret PotterStaff governor100%


Pecuniary Interest

Mr Colby is self-employed as Stuart Colby Electrical Services. This was recorded in February 2021.

Mr Cummins is self-employed as SR.Cummins General Building. This was recorded in February 2021.

Mrs Kirwan carries out first aid training through Wiltshire First Aid. This was recorded in February 2021.


Relationships of Governors

Mr Cummins is married to Mrs Cummins, one of the school's class teachers. This was recorded in February 2021.

Mrs McKeown is the sister of Mrs Edwards, one of the school's class teachers. This was recorded in February 2021.